top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturestephs.echo

Why seasonal veg?



I've been thinking a lot lately about ways that I can realistically encompass a more sustainable lifestyle.


As an avid vegetable eater, I've been meaning to research the ways in which eating seasonally can help with this for some time.


It seems like a great way to support a more sustainable food system and I am here for it.


Aside from eating plant-based foods, there are already so many items on my list that I would IDEALLY like to avoid (palm oil, food packaged in non-recyclables). It can sometimes feel a little overwhelming to try and check for everything.


If you've been wondering what the perks chomping on seasonal veg are, take a look at the resource I've created above. I've included a few January seasonals. I'm going to try and switch a few of my usual vegetable suspects, for the likes of the trusty cauliflower or celery this month. I'm hoping it will help me introduce a bit more variety into my diet as well (rather than just chucking a courgette in everything!)


What are your tips for shopping seasonally?








5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A Conversation With The Direct Ranger Fund

In this blog, I chat with Phil about his journey into conservation, the challenges of setting up an NGO during a global pandemic and the conservation issues facing Panama. Throughout the pandemic, we

Deforestation

Deforestation. A term guaranteed to get you welling up at the thought of homeless orangutans and tigers with nowhere left to roam, or the palm oil advert that made you shed a tear that one time. Of co

Don't beat about the bush! Get stuck in!

What it's really like to train as a Field Guide in South Africa In the latter half of 2017, with no idea what to expect, I ventured to the Eastern Cape of South Africa to train as a FGASA Field Guide

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page