top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturestephs.echo

How to make your Depop Pop

By Maya Thompson


If you’re looking for a way to clear out your wardrobe, earn a bit of money or clothes shop more sustainably, Depop is a great way to do this!


If you haven’t heard of Depop before, it is an online fashion marketplace app where users can list and buy clothes, footwear, accessories and more. It has grown extremely popular in recent years and is now not just used to sell second-hand clothes but is increasingly used as a platform for small businesses selling vintage garms or reworked clothing.


As a frequent Depop user myself, I’ve bought numerous second-hand items from the app and can honestly say I’ve been so pleased with what I’ve bought and have had great experiences with the sellers I’ve bought from. I’ve had some success with selling too but is admittedly something I need to invest a bit more time in to!


Based on my own experience of using the app, I have summarised my top 5 tips for using Depop:


1. Take good photos

When selling your items, it’s really important to take good pics for your page and show the clothes looking their best to draw buyers in! I try to take my photos in front of a plain background, with good lighting and high-quality camera. I also think it looks more professional if you don’t include your face in the photo.


2. Don’t be disheartened if it doesn’t sell straight away

When I first uploaded my items, I was expecting them to get snapped up straight away! But I soon realized this doesn’t always happen! I recommend re-posting your items every so often to get them to the top of search results but also people tend to be looking for something specific so may randomly buy your items unexpectedly!


3. Know what you’re looking for

When I’m looking for items to buy on Depop, I usually have an idea in my head of what I’m looking for. Depop is not the best place for browsing as there are so many items on the app it can be difficult to find the gems, so if you use a specific search term you’re more likely to find what you’re after!


4. Be open to negotiation

This goes for both buyers and sellers. You’re more likely to sell your item if you can lower the price slightly for interested buyers and vice versa. Sellers are always keen to get their items sold so if this means lowering the price slightly then they are usually open to this! It is always worth asking and part of the Depop culture!


5. Like items you’re interested in to keep tabs on them

If you’re not ready to commit to buying an item yet, it is a good idea to like the item so you can find it again if you decide you want to buy it. Depop saves all your likes so you can easily refer back to them.


6. Use Depop to buy High-street clothes

Instead of buying clothing from high-street brands directly, try using Depop first to find the item you are looking for. There will usually be multiple people selling the same high-street item of clothing for cheaper and is also a more sustainable option than buying from the high-street directly.

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A Conversation With The Direct Ranger Fund

In this blog, I chat with Phil about his journey into conservation, the challenges of setting up an NGO during a global pandemic and the conservation issues facing Panama. Throughout the pandemic, we

Deforestation

Deforestation. A term guaranteed to get you welling up at the thought of homeless orangutans and tigers with nowhere left to roam, or the palm oil advert that made you shed a tear that one time. Of co

Don't beat about the bush! Get stuck in!

What it's really like to train as a Field Guide in South Africa In the latter half of 2017, with no idea what to expect, I ventured to the Eastern Cape of South Africa to train as a FGASA Field Guide

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page